What Governments Pay for Chainalysis: A Price-Discovery Guide from Public Contract Records

For one Platinum Reactor user with its add-ons, training and support, a reasonable price on public benchmarks is about ₹0.5–2 crore a year before GST. That range runs from Uttar Pradesh Police at ₹53 lakh, through the US Justice Department and FDA at about ₹1.35 crore, to about ₹1.9 crore per Romanian Platinum licence including training.
Chainalysis publishes no price list, but public award records from the United States, the United Kingdom, the European Union, Canada, Australia and India show what governments actually pay. Across those records, roughly US$1 million a year buys national police coverage or dozens of investigator seats; a recent reseller quote of about US$1 million for a single-user package shows why buyers must itemise the price and test every consumption unit against real need.
Why price discovery is hard
The same product name can hide very different bundles, so two “Chainalysis Reactor” contracts are rarely comparable at face value.
- No published list price. Chainalysis does not publish prices for Reactor or its other products; buyer-data firms such as Vendr say so explicitly.
- Tiers and seats. Reactor is sold per user, in Silver, Gold and Platinum support tiers, as the UK G-Cloud pricing documents describe. The US State Department’s 2026 Colombia tender defined a Gold licence as a “named user license (one user per license), one-year license”.
- Bundles. Awards often fold in case support hours, certification courses and add-ons. The US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) contract covers “analytics, training, and case support” in one line.
- Consumption units. Chainalysis Data Solutions, its SQL, Python, API and bulk-export platform, can be sold with an annual allowance of “Chainalysis Credits” and an overage fee per credit. Credits can dominate a quote, yet tender documents often do not mention them.
- Resellers. Many public buyers contract through resellers: Optiv Federal, Enterprise Technology Solutions and Four LLC in the US; ACS Systems, MISCO and Bechtle in the UK; Q-East Software in Romania; and Indian GeM sellers offering the product under the Cellebrite brand.
- Terms, taxes and currencies. Awards run from one to five years, some include options, and values may include or exclude VAT or GST.
What public contract records show
Fourteen comparable public records, converted to US dollars, span about USD 46,000 to USD 1.3 million a year; the top of that range buys national or multi-agency coverage, not a single seat. Conversions use mid-October 2026 rates (1 GBP = 1.3328 USD, 1 RON = 0.2106 USD, 1 CAD = 0.7089 USD, 1 AUD = 0.6951 USD, 1 USD = INR 94.969) and are not adjusted for inflation.
Buyer | What was bought | Value as published | ≈USD a year | Competition | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Chainalysis Canada, computer services, 25.03.2025–28.03.2026 | CAD 1,829,519.16 | 1,296,900 | Non-competitive, “Exclusive Rights”, 1 bid | Verified | |
Cryptoasset investigation services, online solution, support, training; from 25.03.2024 | GBP 477,650 ex VAT (Find a Tender); GBP 955,300 (Contracts Finder) | 636,600–1,273,200 | Open, 6 tenders | Verified; records disagree | |
31 Gold named users + 550 hrs case support + 9 private certification courses (year 1 of 3) | USD 1,124,593 (USD 3,393,555 with options) | 1,124,600 | Competed, 8 offers | Verified | |
Blockchain forensics SaaS for UK police forces, regional units and the Serious Fraud Office; 2023–25 | GBP 1,500,000 ex VAT for 24 months | 999,600 | Open, 7 tenders, price-only | Verified | |
4 Reactor Platinum licences + training; award 11.12.2025; term not stated | RON 3,812,000 ex VAT | 802,600 (term unknown) | Award 23% below estimate | Verified | |
Software and support services, CN4178511 (published 08.08.2025); term not shown | AUD 1,037,780 | 721,400 (term unknown) | Not shown | Secondary | |
Crypto analytics and tracing tool, 2020–21 | GBP 293,988.25 | 391,800 | Open | Verified | |
Reactor Gold (sold as Cellebrite), quantity 1; award Dec 2025–Jan 2026 | INR 2,97,00,000 (GeM, normally tax-inclusive) | 265,000 ex tax | 3 bidders | Secondary | |
Reactor licences, 2023–24 | GBP 177,080 | 236,000 | Framework call-off | Verified | |
Reactor cloud subscription and support, 2026–27 | USD 143,769.12 | 143,800 | 1 offer | Verified | |
Reactor software licence, 16.02.2024–28.02.2027 | USD 426,818.73 obligated | 140,400 | Small-business set-aside (secondary source) | Verified | |
Reactor Gold 1-year licence, quantity 1; reverse auction Jan 2026 | INR 62,83,500 (GeM, normally tax-inclusive) | 56,100 ex tax | 4 resellers of the same product | Secondary | |
Reactor certification for up to 300 users, 2022–23 | GBP 45,000 | 60,000 | Single tender | Verified | |
Software for a financial-intelligence fusion centre, Nov 2025 | USD 46,000 | 46,000 | Sole source, 1 offer | Secondary |
Agency-wide programmes sit far above this range and are not like-for-like: ICE USD 3.57 million for 2025–26 (not competed); the IRS USD 10.92 million obligated for 2026–27 (USD 34.43 million with options, 1 offer), after an earlier brand-name award of USD 26.77 million for 2023–26; and an FBI framework with a USD 25 million ceiling for 2022–27.
Benchmarks per user and per licence
Where a record states quantities, a Reactor seat costs roughly USD 14,000 to 56,000 a year, and about USD 200,000 for a Platinum licence bundled with training.
Benchmark | Source | ≈USD per unit a year |
|---|---|---|
Reactor, reseller list price per user (UK G-Cloud 14) | MISCO listing: GBP 10,500 per user | 14,000 |
Reactor with Data Solutions, 5-user access licence, Gold (UK G-Cloud 14) | Bechtle listing and pricing document: GBP 55,000 per access licence | 73,300 per licence (≈14,700 per user) |
Gold named user, including 550 hours of shared case support and 9 courses | INL Colombia year 1 ÷ 31 users | 36,300 |
Gold, 1-year licence, quantity 1, after reverse auction (India) | Uttar Pradesh Police L1, ex tax | 56,100 |
Competitor: TRM Forensics Premium (UK G-Cloud 14) | TRM Labs listing: GBP 33,272–41,590 per licence | 44,300–55,400 |
Platinum licence including training (term not stated) | Romania award ÷ 4 licences | 200,700 |
Reactor certification | UK HMRC: GBP 45,000 for up to 300 users | 200 per user |
List prices are ceilings, not market prices: buyer-data firm Vendr reports multi-year terms 15–30% cheaper per year and a median Chainalysis contract of USD 174,709 a year (range USD 25,742–297,338; sample size not disclosed).
Normalised price for India (In INR)
- ₹10.68 crore for 31 Gold users in Colombia (₹34.4 lakh per user),
- ₹7.62 crore for four Platinum licences in Romania (₹1.91 crore each, term unknown),
- ₹6.05–12.09 crore for HMRC and ₹12.32 crore for Canada’s RCMP.
- ₹9.49 crore for UK national police coverage,
- Smaller contracts cost much less: ₹2.52 crore (Andhra Pradesh),
- ₹2.24 crore (UK DWP),
- ₹1.37 crore (US Justice Department),
- ₹1.34 crore (US FDA),
- ₹53 lakh (Uttar Pradesh Police) and
- ₹44 lakh (US INL Peru).
- Per seat, UK list prices work out to ₹13–14 lakh for Chainalysis through resellers and ₹42–53 lakh for TRM Labs. Rates are those of 16–19 October 2026 (1 USD = ₹94.969, 1 GBP = ₹126.57, 1 RON = ₹19.996, 1 CAD = ₹67.323, 1 AUD = ₹66.014); Indian GeM prices are divided by 1.18 to remove GST, and UK values are ex-VAT where the notice says so.
The market is contestable: competed awards drew 3 to 8 offers, and a USD 94.6 million sole-source award in 2026 went to a Chainalysis competitor and was challenged in court.
- Competed awards. The UK National Police Chiefs’ Council received 7 tenders, HMRC 6, and the US State Department’s Colombia purchase 8 offers. Romania awarded 23% below its own estimate.
- Sole-source awards. ICE (2025–26) and the IRS (2023–26, a brand-name requirement “not available for competition”) were not competed. The IRS 2026 award and the Justice Department order each record one offer. Canada’s RCMP cited “Exclusive Rights”.
Brand-locked specifications remove competition between products; the ICE dispute shows that vendors themselves treat open competition as worth fighting for.
A checklist for public buyers
Ten steps would have exposed the case-study price before award, and they apply in any jurisdiction.
- Benchmark before you estimate. Use at least three independent sources: public awards (such as those above), framework list prices, and budgetary quotes from different resellers and competing products. Procurement committee must Consult with Ministry / Department on pricing.
- Assess the need in units. Count investigator seats, teaching or training seats, and expected data queries. For any consumption product, get the manufacturer’s table of credits per query in writing.
- Check for any indigenous alternatives. China’s public security organs primarily use domestic blockchain analytics platforms such as SAFEIS (安士) from 中科链源, 无匿 from 中科链安, and 链必追 from 成都链安, combined with device forensics tools and in-house AI models.
- Specify the units in the tender. Users, tier, sessions, credits and term must be stated so that every bid prices the same thing.
- Demand an itemised price. Seat, sessions, committed credit rate, overage rate, add-ons, training, certifications and support hours, each priced separately in one currency.
- Price alternatives. Seats without the data platform; a right-sized credit block; academic or education licences, which UK G-Cloud listings say are available.
- Normalise. Convert to one currency on a stated date, strip taxes, annualise multi-year awards, and separate services from licences.
- Keep specifications functional. Describe capabilities, not brand names or branded course titles; if only one product will do, use the single-source procedure openly and justify it.
- Ask for a most-favoured-price declaration and a fall clause tied to prices for comparable public customers.
- Publish the award with quantities, so the next buyer can benchmark you.
Limits of this analysis
This is a desk review of public records as of 20 October 2026, not an audit, and it alleges no wrongdoing by any vendor, reseller or buyer.
- Most records do not state user counts, tiers, credits or services, so most comparisons are indicative, not like-for-like.
- Two official UK records give different values for the same HMRC contract (GBP 477,650 and GBP 955,300); neither says whether the higher figure includes the extension year.
- The Indian and some US figures come from aggregator sites; Indian GeM prices are assumed to include 18% tax.
- Older contracts are converted at October 2026 exchange rates without inflation adjustment.
- Procurement systems in Latin America beyond US-funded purchases, the Gulf states, East and South-East Asia and Africa were not searched; absence of a record here is not absence of purchases.
Sources
All pages were opened on 20 October 2026. “API” links are official USAspending.gov award records.
Official procurement records
- European Union – Romania PICCJ, Reactor Platinum licences
- USAspending – State Dept INL Colombia 191NLE26P0031
- GovTribe – RFQ 191NLE26Q0084 (signed solicitation)
- USAspending – Justice Department 15JPSS26F00000967
- USAspending – HHS/FDA 75F40124F80044
- USAspending – ICE 70CMSD25FR0000137
- USAspending – IRS 2023H226C00018
- USAspending – IRS 205AE923C00010
- USAspending – FBI framework 15F06722D0000317
- Open Canada – RCMP contract
- UK Find a Tender – HMRC 033347-2024
- UK Contracts Finder – HMRC
- UK Find a Tender – NPCC 022126-2023
- UK Contracts Finder – NPCC
- UK Contracts Finder – DWP Reactor licences
- UK Contracts Finder – Derbyshire PCC
- UK Contracts Finder – HMRC Reactor certification
- UK G-Cloud 14 – MISCO “Crypto Analysis” and pricing document
- UK G-Cloud 14 – Bechtle “Chainalysis Reactor with Data Solutions” and pricing document
- UK G-Cloud 14 – TRM Forensics Premium
Secondary sources
- Tenderkart – Andhra Pradesh FSL, GEM/2025/B/6927626
- TenderDekho – Andhra Pradesh FSL ranking and award date
- TenderDekho – Uttar Pradesh Police, GEM/2025/B/6908820
- GovTribe – INL Peru 19PE5026P0049
- Pollywatch – Australian Federal Police contracts with Chainalysis
- Vendr – Chainalysis pricing data
- Chainalysis – Data Solutions product page
- Decrypt – Chainalysis bid protest over ICE award to TRM Labs